At Heritage we have a broad academic curriculum designed to prepare our students for life beyond school.


Curriculum in Western Australia is mandated by the Schools Curriculum and Standards Authority and is based on the Australian Curriculum. This in being introduced in schools across the country in stages and Heritage College is well advanced in implementation of the new curriculum.

The eight core learning areas are:

  1. English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Science
  4. History, Humanities and Social Sciences
  5. The Arts
  6. Health & Physical Education
  7. Languages  (Hebrew)
  8. Technologies

We have experienced specialist teachers who support our main classroom teachers in the effective delivery of high quality learning in each of these areas. With many thanks to the Board of the College, our parents and friends and other interested members of our community, we have well planned and well resourced learning areas.

We also have the support of a number of teaching assistants, who can help with the delivery of specific learning programs for students with special needs. On the other hand, those students who are progressing well academically have the opportunity to learn at a rate suitable for them with some self paced learning and extension work.

A feature of our Years 7 – 12 program is that students are each provided with an iPad for use during school time, greatly enhancing their ability to learn, problem solve and research for any learning area. Students, upon signing a laptop agreement, are permitted to take iPads home to finish homework and assignments. Children in primary school have excellent exposure to computer use, and close to a 1:1 ratio of iPads to students ensures that they get lots of hands on experience in using computers to assist learning.

There are many opportunities for students to join in extra-curricular activities, such as interschool sport, school concerts, whole school drama productions, instrumental music (years 5 to 7) and private tuition music lessons.